Make me worthy, O Lord, to know Thee that I might also love Thee, not with that knowledge which springs from the exercise of study accompanied by dispersion of mind: but make me worthy of that knowledge whereby the mind, in beholding Thee, glorifies Thy nature in divine vision that steals from the mind the awareness of the world. Account me worthy to be lifted above the will’s wandering eye which begets imaginings, and to behold Thee in the constraint of the bond of the cross, in the second part of the crucifixion of the mind, whose liberty ceases from activity of its thoughts by abiding in Thy continuous vision, which surpasses nature. Implant in me the astringent of Thy love, that being drawn away by fervent love for Thee I may come forth from this world. Awake in me understanding of Thy humility, wherewith Thou didst sojourn in the world in the dwelling-place of our members, which Thou didst put on, through the mediation of the Holy Virgin, that with this continual and unfailing recollection, I may accept with delight the lowliness of my nature.

St. Isaac the Syrian
“Ascetical Homilies” (Homily 36, “A Prayer”)

