My, my how times have changed. Nowhere is it as obvious as it is at this Advent time. The melodies that we hear on the radio and the songs that fill the air have little resemblance to the gentle Christmas songs from as little as 30 years ago.

I will share with you the lyrics to one of my favorites. The song, “C – H – R – I – S – T – M – a – S” is track #39 on the album Complete RCA Christmas Collection. It was written by Arnold, Eddy / Carson, Jenny Lou.

When I was but a youngster, Christmas meant one thing

That I’d be getting lots of toys that day
I learned a whole lot different when mother sat me down
And taught me to spell Christmas this way

C is for the Christ child born upon this day
H for herald angels in the night
R means our redeemer
I means Israel
S is for the star that shone so bright
T is for three wise men, they who traveled far
M is for the manger where He lay
A is for all He stands for
S means Shepard’s came

And that’s why there’s a Christmas day

C is for the Christ child born upon this day
H for herald angels in the night
R means redeemer
I means Israel
S is for the star that shone so bright
T is for three wise men, they who traveled far
M is for the manger where He lay
A is for all He stands for
S means Shepard’s came
And that’s why there’s a Christmas day

