Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I
will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with My righteous Right
Hand.” Isaiah 41:10

The Angel of Great Counsel

Great is the consolation our Lord offers to us. When we learn to place ALL of our trust, ALL of our hope, and ALL of our cares in Him we are truly free and unencumbered by the snares of this world. Our Lord lightens our labors, removing some of our trials but not all. In His infinite and compassionate wisdom He knows what is best for us and what will perfect us. O Lord help us to accept Thy will and strengthen us to endure those things which Thou hast allowed for our chastening!

 

 

From the service of the Great Compline we read more words to rouse us from despair:

God is with us; know, ye nations, and be vanquished.
For God is with us.

Give ear, even unto the utmost part of the earth.
For God is with us.

Ye that have prevailed, even ye be vanquished.
For God is with us.

For though ye should prevail again, yet again shall ye be van-quished.
For God is with us.

And whatsoever counsel ye shall take, the Lord shall bring it to nought.
For God is with us.

And whatsoever word ye speak, it shall not abide in you.
For God is with us.

And the fear of you we shall not fear, neither shall we be troubled.
For God is with us.

But we will sanctify the Lord our God, and He shall be our fear.
For God is with us.

And if I put my trust in Him, He shall be my sanctification.
For God is with us.

Yea, I will put my trust in Him, and I shall be saved through Him.
For God is with us.

Behold, I and the children which God hath given me.
For God is with us.

The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light.
For God is with us.

We that dwell in the land and shadow of death, a light shall shine upon us.
For God is with us.

For unto us a Child is born; and unto us a Son is given.
For God is with us.

Whose government is come upon His shoulder.
For God is with us.

And of His peace there is no end.
For God is with us.

And His Name shall be called the Angel of great counsel.
For God is with us.

Wonderful Counsellor.
For God is with us.

The mighty God, He that hath authority, the Prince of peace.
For God is with us.

The Father of the age to come.
For God is with us.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.
For God is with us.

Both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.
For God is with us.

God is with us; know, ye nations, and be vanquished; for God is with us.

Having passed through the day, I thank Thee, O Lord: Grant me, I beseech Thee, that this evening and night may be without sin, O Saviour, and save me.

Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit
Having gone through the day, I glorify Thee, O Master: Grant me, I beseech Thee, that this evening and night may be without stumbling, O Saviour, and save me.

Both now and ever and unto the ages of ages amen.
Being come to the end of the day, I praise Thee, O Holy One: Grant me, I beseech Thee, that this evening and night may be without temptation, O Saviour, and save me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Psalms are another expression of faith, piety, and total trust in God. It is no wonder the Church has filled the cycle of services with the Psalms and verses of the Psalms.  “For Thou, O Lord, art my hope. “.  May we ever seek after the Lord, placing all of our trust in Him!

PSALM 90

He that dwelleth in the help of the Most High shall abide in the shelter of the God of Heaven.

He shall say unto the Lord: Thou art my helper and my refuge.  He is my God, and I will hope in Him.

For He shall deliver thee from the snare of the hunters and from every troubling word.

With His shoulders will He overshadow thee, and under His wings shalt thou have hope.

With a shield will His truth encompass thee; thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night, nor for the arrow that flieth by day,

Nor for the thing that walketh in darkness, nor for the mishap and demon of noonday.

A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand, but unto thee shall it not come nigh.

Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold, and thou shalt see the reward of sinners.

For Thou, O Lord, art my hope.  Thou madest the Most High thy refuge;

No evils shall come nigh thee, and no scourge shall draw nigh unto thy dwelling.

For He shall give His angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

On their hands shall they bear thee up, lest at any time thou dash thy foot against a stone.

Upon the asp and basilisk shalt thou tread, and thou shalt trample upon the lion and dragon.

For he hath set his hope on Me, and I will deliver him; I will shelter him because he hath known My Name.

He shall cry unto Me, and I will hearken unto him.  I am with him in affliction, and I will rescue him and glorify him.

With length of days will I satisfy him, and I will show him My salvation.

