In the prayers for the making of a catechumen, we pray “Yoke unto his/her life a radiant angel…” From this point the Church comforts us assuring us that we have received a guardian angel who protects us and guides us and will be ever with us for the rest of our life. We are never truly alone for our angel stands beside us!

Image result

Prayers to our Guardian Angel

Upon arising in the morning, before anything else, direct your heart and mind towards God, and face your icons, or face East and with compunction, and without haste, make four bows, or better, four prostrations. Do this with hope in God, and the sure belief that He will receive your prayer, as He received the widow’s two mites, and protect you during the day, even if you fall into inattention and these prayers are the last you will say for the entire day.

Making the sign of the cross, with a bow of prostration during each prayer say:

1 Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God have mercy on me a sinner.
2 Most Holy Theotokos, save us.
3 Holy Saint ______ (your patron saint), pray to God for me.
4 Holy Angel of God, my guardian, pray to God for me.

After these prayers, it is best to continue with your morning prayers, and then turn your attentions to the cares of the day. Even if the weakness of the flesh compels us to abandon our prayer and rush into our day, perhaps not to return to our morning prayer, at least we have begun the by giving our “first fruits” to God. Let us do these “few things”, four short prayers that take under a minute, so that in time, our heart will become aflame with the love of God, and our Lord will say to us: “”Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.” (Mat 25:21)

Source

Prayers to the Guardian Angel, from the Canon

O holy Angel, my Guardian, intercede in my behalf.

Conquer my countless and multitudinous evils with Thy loving kindness, O Only-begotten and supremely good Jesus, through the divine supplications of Thine immaterial minister, whom Thou, as Friend of man, hast sent to me to be my guardian when yet I was a babe.

Glory

After God, I have placed all my hope of salvation in thee, my guardian and patron and helper; taking the choirs of the Angels as fellow advocates and helpers, make common intercession unto God for me.

Both now

O birthgiver of God, exalt the horn of the pious and overthrow the arrogance of the barbarians, preserving from oppression this thy flock, in which thy great and much-glorified name is faithfully magnified and glorified.

Second Tone. O House of Ephratha

*O Angel of our God, cease not to make entreaty for thy most lowly servant, as thou dost stand before the Divine, All-holy Trinity.

*As one who hast received from God the might and power to guard my soul, do not cease to ever shelter it ‘neath the shelter of thy holy wings.

*Thanks unto Jesus Christ Who gave thee unto me as my soul’s great, holy guardian and weapon against enemies, O Angel honoured by God.

*Vouchsafe that I attain also unto the Kingdom of Christ our God the Most High, that with thee I may cry out the wondrous and thrice-holy hymn.

*Thou art a second light after our God, O guardian; cease not to care for me, that I also see the light of the thrice-radiant Divinity.

Glory; both now.

*O Theotokos, thou sovereign Lady of Angels and mortals: Cease not praying to thy Son in behalf of thy servant, O pure Virgin Maid.

A PRAYER TO THE GUARDIAN ANGEL

O holy Angel, attendant of my wretched soul and of mine afflicted life, forsake me not, a sinner, neither depart from me for mine incontinency. Give no place to the evil demon to subdue me with the oppression of this mortal body; but take me by my wretched and outstretched hand, and lead me in the way of salvation. Yea, O holy Angel of God, the guardian and protector of my hapless soul and body, forgive me all things whatsoever wherewith I have troubled thee, all the days of my life, and if I have sinned in anything this day. Shelter me in this present night, and keep me from every affront of the enemy, lest I anger God by any sin; and intercede with the Lord in my behalf, that He might strengthen me in the fear of Him, and make me a worthy servant of His goodness. Amen.

From the Canon to the Guardian Angel

Copyright © Holy Transfiguration Monastery, Brookline, MA. All Rights Reserved.

