Many of us today fall victim to the great stressors of our careers. It is significant that these adverse working conditions and challenges take a great toll on us, physically, mentally, and even spiritually.

This morning, amidst my grumbling, I was humbled. It occurred to me, if I complain so much over things which are really trivial, if I lose my patience over the behavior and questions of others, how will I stand courageously during times of greater trial, nay even to the point of shedding blood and martyrdom?

Without our Lord’s help, we will not stand. Man is fickle and weak, given to vain pursuits. But great is our courage and strength when we contemplate “The Lord is my light and my Saviour, who then shall I fear?” <cf Psalm 27>.

The book of Psalms, that great lesson plan for repentance and spirituality, was written by the Prophet David. Each psalm speaks of the worries, the trials, the fears, and even the anxiety of this great Saint. By the workings of the Holy Spirit, the book of Psalms speaks to the very heart of man and provides abundant words of consolation for us. So the next time our patience is short and we are ready to blow-our-top, consider these words of life:

“I have set the LORD continually before me; Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” -Psalm 16:8

“When I am afraid, I will put my trust in Thee. In God, whose word I praise, In God I have put my trust; I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?” -Psalm 56:3

“You are my hiding place; You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” -Psalm 32:7-8
“When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears, and rescues them from all their troubles.” -Psalm 34:17

 

